Special Populations (SPO) Community

The Special Populations Community focuses on research with groups of patients that differ with regard to human development (pediatrics, geriatrics, pregnancy), gender, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, body condition (obesity/malnutrition), or lifestyle (drug dependence, smoking).

SPO Mission

The mission of the Special Populations Community is to engage members in clinical pharmacology and translational medicine research across academia, regulatory agencies, and industry to understand factors that contribute to variable therapeutic outcomes in special populations. 

SPO Goals
  • Provide a community environment that fosters the development of much needed scientific expertise in special populations, including an appreciation for the diversity of the research in special populations.
  • Encourage the development of innovative pharmacological tools to engage special populations in research.
  • Stimulate scientific collaborations among clinical pharmacologists with interests in special populations and encourage the sharing of knowledge about common challenges in conducting research in special populations.
  • Provide a platform to collaborate with regulatory agencies to disseminate knowledge and expertise for the enhancement of guidelines on special populations. 
  • Support members to propose and sponsor programming for ASCPT Annual Meetings as well as webinars and other educational resources throughout the year that are of interest to the SPO community.
  • Encourage feedback from the SPO community members and be responsive to ideas, initiatives, and involvement. 
Community News

  Upcoming Webinar
SPO Community Meeting Webinar
Date and Time:
Monday, April 24, 2017, 1:30 pm-3:00 pm
Title: Age-Dependent Developmental Changes in Hepatic Organic Cation Transporter 1 (OCT1) Protein Expression in Neonates and Small Infants 
Speaker: David Hahn, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center 
Title: UGT1A9 rs3832043 Influences Acetaminophen Glucuronidation in Neonates 
Speaker: Matthew Linakis, University of Utah Title: Maturation of Human Hepatic Membrane Transporter Proteins in the First Four Months of Life 
Speaker: Bianca van Groen, Erasmus Medical Center, Sophia’s Children’s Hospital 
Moderators: Catherine M.T. Sherwin, PhD, MSc, FCP, Assistant Professor, Pediatrics and Pharmacy; Erica Woodahl, PhD, University of Montana
To register for the webinar please click here: 

Past Webinars
Title: Special Populations: Considerations for Evaluating Body Size and Body Composition
Presenters: Catherine M.T. Sherwin, PhD, MSc, FCP, Assistant Professor, Pediatrics and Pharmacy
Chief Division of Clinical Pharmacology, Director Utah Clinical Pharmacology Fellowship Program
Department of Pediatrics, University of Utah School of Medicine
Moderators: Erica Woodahl, PhD, University of Montana and SPO Community Chair and Elena Enioutina, MD, PhD, University of Utah
Video available below, log in as a member to access the video.

Please log in as a member to access more Community News and members-only content.
Catherine M.T. Sherwin, PhD
University of Utah School of Medicine
Division of Clinical Pharmacology & Clinical Trials Office

Dr. Sherwin’s current research involves understanding the pharmacology of drugs in neonatal, pediatric and obstetric populations specifically in the techniques of pharmacometric modeling and scaling which are crucial for clinical trials in special populations.Her interests and expertise include numerous drug classes including antibiotics, immunosuppressants, antiepileptics, anesthetic agents and opioids. Full bio
Vice Chair
Paulien Ravenstijn, PhD
Janssen R&D

Bio coming soon.

Past Chair
Erica L. Woodahl, PhD
University of Montana
Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences

Dr. Woodahl is an Associate Professor at the University of Montana in the Department of Biomedical and Pharmaceutical Sciences. The research in her lab focuses on pharmacogenomics in drug-metabolizing enzymes and drug transporters to understand interindividual variability in drug response and toxicity.  Full Bio

SPO Steering Committee:
The SPO Steering Committee has formed;  the members of the committee are listed below:
Catherine M.T. Sherwin, PhD (Chair) 
Paulien Ravenstijn, PhD (Vice Chair) 
Erica Woodahl, PhD (Past Chair)
Geert ‘t Jong, MD, PhD 
Malaz AbuTarif, MBA, PhD 
Jacob Brown, PharmD 
Violette Gijsen, MSc
Mary Jayne Kennedy, PharmD 
Matthew Linakis, BS

Join the SPO Community >> 

Get more involved in the SPO Community >> 

Find SPO Community Members >> 
528 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314 |  Ph: 703.836.6981 |