William B. Abrams Award in Geriatric Clinical Pharmacology

The William B. Abrams Award in Geriatric Clinical Pharmacology was established with support from the Merck Company Foundation in 1996 to honor an investigator in geriatric clinical pharmacology for outstanding contributions to the field.

Dr. Abrams, a Past President of ASCPT, had a long and illustrious career in the pharmaceutical industry, mostly at the Merck Research Laboratories. Among his many accomplishments in geriatric clinical pharmacology, he was the founding Co-Editor of the Merck Manual of Geriatrics, created the Scientific Section on Geriatric Clinical Pharmacology of ASCPT, and developed and funded post-doctoral training programs in geriatric clinical pharmacology.

Dr. Abrams' objective in establishing this award was to encourage more young scientists to enter the field of geriatric clinical pharmacology by recognizing accomplishments in the field at the Society's Annual Meeting.

Eligibility

A nominee must be an investigator in geriatrics who is actively involved in high-quality teaching and research in geriatric clinical pharmacology.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion:

ASCPT is committed to recognizing and promoting excellence in research, collaborations, and efforts that highlight dimensions of diversity. Nominators should address how the candidate has fostered a diverse and inclusive environment.

Prize and Presentation

The William B. Abrams Award in Geriatric Clinical Pharmacology is presented at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will receive a plaque and a \$1,000 prize. Travel expenses, hotelexpenses, and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

Past Recipients

2024: Sean Hennessy, PharmD, PhD

2023: Shelly L. Gray, PharmD

2022: Petra Thuermann, MD

2021: Cara Tannenbaum, MD

2020: Yu-Jung "Jenny" Wei, PhD

2019: Danijela Gnijidic, PhD, MPH

2018: Kenneth Schmader, MD

2017: N/A

2016: Joseph T. Hanlon, PharmD

2015: Kenneth Rockwood, MD FRCP(C)

2014: Bruce G. Pollock, MD, PhD, FRCP(C)

2013: David Le Couteur, MD, PhD

2012: Janice B. Schwartz, MD

2011: Darrell R. Abernethy, MD, PhD

2010: N/A

2009: Sarah Hilmer, PhD, FRACP

2008: Patricia W. Slattum, PharmD, PhD, CGP

2007: Arshad Jahangir, MD

2006: Margaret Pisani, MD

2005: David N. Juurlink, MD, PhD, FRCP(C)

2004: Lisa von Moltke, MD

2003: Kristine Yaffe, MD

2002: Paula Rochon, MD, MPH, FRCP(C)

2001: Jerry H. Gurwitz, MD

2000: Gary A. Ford, MA, MRCP

1999: George K. Dresser, MD

1998: Nikhil G. Majmudar, MRCP

1997: Barbara A. Liu, MD, FRCP(C)

1996: Johanne Monette, MD