## **Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award**

The *Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award* was established in 1978 by Dr. W. B. Rawls to further his commitment to continuing medical education and its impact on patient care. This award was founded through the generosity of the late Dr. and Mrs. W.B. Rawls, and honors the memory of their parents.

The goal of the *Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award* is to incorporate the efforts of modern research in patient care and to help bridge the gap between the results of research and its application in patient care.

## Eligibility

A nominee can be an academic, industrial, or regulatory scientist who is widely recognized for their transformational and/or translational discoveries or innovative approaches impacting clinical pharmacology research and clinical practice. A nominee does not need to be an ASCPT member.

## **Prize and Presentation**

The *Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award* is presented at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will present a lecture focusing on recent developments in clinical pharmacology. In addition, the recipient will receive a \$1,000 prize and a plaque. Travel expenses, hotel expenses and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

## **Previous Recipients**

2021 - Julie Johnson, PharmD 2020 - Angela Kashuba, PharmD

2019 - J. Steven Leeder, PharmD, PhD

2018 - Gregory L. Kearns, PharmD, PhD

2017 - Russ B. Altman, MD, PhD

2016 - Kenneth Thummel, PhD

2015 - Paul B. Watkins, MD

2014 - Yuichi Sugiyama, PhD

2013 - Mary V. Relling, PharmD

2012 - Scott A. Waldman, MD, PhD

2011 - David Flockhart, MD, PhD

2010 - Mark J. Ratain, MD

2009 - Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD

2008 - Dan M. Roden, MD

2007 - Lawrence J. Lesko, PhD

2006 - William Evans, PharmD

2005 - Alastair J. J. Wood, MD

2004 - Meindert Danhof, PharmD, PhD

2003 - Brian Strom, MD, MPH

2002 - Terrence F. Blaschke, MD

2001 - Robert J. Temple, MD

2000 - Darrell R. Abernethy, MD, PhD

1999 - Neal L. Benowitz, MD

1998 - Donald R. Stanski, MD

1997 - Gideon Koren, MD

1996 - Grant R. Wilkinson, PhD

1995 - Leslie Z. Benet, PhD

1994 - Carl C. Peck, MD

1993 - D. Craig Brater, MD

1992 - Stephen P. Spielberg, MD, PhD

1991 - Frank J. Gonzalez, PhD and Urs A. Meyer, MD

1990 - Raymond L. Woosley, MD, PhD

1989 - Lewis B. Sheiner, MD

1988 - Edward M. Sellers, MD, PhD

1987 - William J. Jusko, PhD

1986 - Louis Lemberger, MD, PhD

1985 - Alan S. Nies, MD

1984 - Henry R. Bourne, MD

1983 - Arthur J. Atkinson, Jr., MD

1982 - William A. Pettinger, MD

1981 - Marcus M. Reidenberg, MD

1980 - David J. Greenblatt, MD

1979 - Richard M. Weinshilboum, MD