Sheiner-Beal Pharmacometrics Award

The *Sheiner-Beal Pharmacometrics Award* has been established as an ASCPT Award by the Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF) to acknowledge the pioneering contributions of Drs. Lewis B. Sheiner and Stuart Beal to the scientific discipline of pharmacometrics.

Definition

Pharmacometrics is defined as the science that quantifies drug, disease and clinical trial information to aid efficient drug development, regulatory decisions and rational therapeutic decision making in patients. It uses models that are generally based on pharmacology, physiology, genetic constitution and/or disease for quantitative analysis of interactions between drugs and patients. The domain of pharmacometrics includes the application of techniques that address the interactions between pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics, pharmacogenomics, and disease progression with a focus on populations and variability in the exposure-response relationship.

Goal

The goal of the *Sheiner-Beal Pharmacometrics Award* is to recognize outstanding achievements at the forefront of research or leadership in pharmacometrics and/or application of pharmacometric concepts and techniques to enhance research, development, regulatory evaluation, and/or utilization of therapeutic products.

Eligibility

The candidate must be an investigator or leader who is actively advancing the scientific discipline of pharmacometrics and/or its impact on research, development, regulatory evaluation, or utilization of therapeutic products, and is capable of delivering an engaging and comprehensive lecture on pharmacometrics. The award is intended to recognize clinical pharmacologists, clinician scientists, computational scientists, statisticians and others in academia, industry, government agencies, or consulting whose work falls within the scope of the definition of pharmacometrics.

Prize and Presentation

The *Sheiner-Beal Pharmacometrics Award* will be presented annually at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will present a lecture summarizing the works that form the basis of the award. In addition, the recipient will receive a \$1,500 prize and a plaque. Travel expenses, hotel expenses and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

Previous Recipients

2021 - Steven Shafer, MD

2020 - Marc Gastonguay, PhD

2019 - Joga Gobburu, PhD

2018 - France Mentré, MD, PhD

2017 - Carl C. Peck, MD

2016 - N/A

2015 - Thomas M. Ludden, PhD

2014 - Mats Karlsson, PhD

2013 - William J. Jusko, PhD

2012 - Malcolm Rowland, DSc, PhD

2011 - Donald R. Stanski, MD

(Inaugural Recipient)