Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award

The Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award was established in 1986 to honor a young scientist for accomplishments in the field of clinical pharmacology or translational science achieved early in the candidate's career.

The goal of the *Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award* is to encourage and recognize these scientists active in the fields of clinical pharmacology or translational science.

Eligibility

The nominee can be an academic, industrial, or regulatory scientist who has made a substantial contribution to clinical pharmacology or translational science within 10 years of the completion of an advanced degree and/or a post-doctoral fellowship or residency program. An important aspect is that the recipient will be able to deliver an engaging presentation about the impact of their research.

The award is intended to foster the candidate's potential for significant contributions to the future of clinical pharmacology or translational science.

There are no restrictions concerning the scientific field in which nominees have earned their doctoral degrees. Although it is encouraged, a nominee need not be a member of the Society.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

ASCPT is committed to recognizing and promoting excellence in research, collaborations, and efforts that highlight dimensions of diversity. Nominators should address how the candidate's work has fostered an environment of inclusion and/or has had a demonstrable impact on people in underrepresented populations.

Prize and Presentation

The Leon I. Goldberg Early Investigator Award is presented at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will present a lecture summarizing the work that forms the basis of the award. In addition, the recipient of the award will receive a plaque and a \$1,000 prize. Travel expenses, hotel expenses, and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

Past Recipients

2022 – Cecilia Chung, MD, MPH	2003 - Rachel Tyndale, PhD
2021 - Radojka Savic, PhD	2002 - Deanna L. Kroetz, PhD
2020 - Jennifer Goldman, MD	2001 - Gerd Geisslinger, MD, PhD
2019 - Sara van Driest, MD, PhD	2000 - Richard B. Kim, MD
2018 - David Strauss, MD, PhD	1999 - Andre Terzic, MD, PhD
2017 - Namandje N. Bumpus, PhD	1998 - Mary V. Relling, PharmD
2017 - Michael Pacanowski, PharmD, MPH	1997 - Michael Rieder, MD
2016 - Minoli Perera, PharmD, PhD	1996 - Jerry H. Gurwitz, MD
2016 - Liewei Wang, MD, PhD	1995 - Stephen D. Hall, PhD
2015- Mikko Niemi, MD, PhD	1994 - Charles W. Flexner, MD
2014 - Nadav Ahituv, PhD	1993 - Lawrence G. Miller, MD
2013 - Federico Innocenti, MD, PhD	1992 - Dan M. Roden, MD

2012 - Michael Maitland, MD, PhD

2011 – Susan M. Abdel-Rahman, PharmD

2010 – Julia Kirchheiner, MD

2009 – Angela D.M. Kashuba, PharmD

2008 - Sean Hennessy, PharmD, PhD

2007 - Sebastian Schneeweiss, MD, ScD

2006 - Micheline Piquette-Miller, PhD

2005 - William D. Figg, PharmD

2005 - Jaap W. Mandema, PhD

2004 - Julie Johnson, PharmD

1991 - William E. Evans, PharmD

1990 - Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD

1989 - Brian B. Hoffman, MD

1988 - Donald R. Stanski, MD

1987 - Oscar L. Laskin, MD

1986 - Eric P. Brass, MD, PhD