ASCPT & FDA William B. Abrams Lecture

The William B. Abrams Lecture is a joint educational initiative of ASCPT and the FDA. The lecture series, supported in part by The Merck Company Foundation, was established in 1999 to honor William B. Abrams, MD, an ASCPT president from 1975 to 1976.

Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Abrams worked at the FDA as the first special government employee to establish the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research Staff College and develop its curriculum. He also had a distinguished career in the pharmaceutical industry as a longtime employee of Merck Research Laboratories.

For more than ten years, ASCPT and the FDA have invited experts from academia, industry and government to discuss advances in clinical pharmacology and drug development. These scientists have excelled in their specialty areas and are some of the most highly esteemed clinical pharmacologists in the field. Their presentations convey novel information and perspectives on fundamental aspects of clinical pharmacology. Previous lectures have included speakers from the Mayo Clinic, University of California, Children's Mercy Hospitals and Clinics and the National Institutes of Health.

This year's lecture will be held at the FDA’s White Oak Campus in Silver Spring, Maryland:

TitleEquations of Life and Success: How Basic Modeling Principles Govern Diverse Aspects of Pharmacology, Pharmacodynamics, and Systems Pharmacology

Speaker: William J Jusko, PhD, SUNY Distinguished Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences, University at Buffalo, Buffalo, NY

The 2017 lecture took place Wednesday, May 3, 2017.

Previous Abrams Lectures
2015- " A Unifying PK/PD Relationship to Predict Drug Dosing Regimens for NMEs, Validate Clinical Biomarkers as Qualified Surrogates and Serve as a Quality Metric for PK/PD Models"  Leslie Z. Benet, PhD
2014 - "Personalized Medicine on the Precipice: Will We Jump?" David Flockhart, MD PhD
2013  "The Science-Policy Dynamic Ensuring Pharmaceutical Product Quality and Interchangeability: BCS Discovery, Development, Regulation" Gordon L. Amidon, PhD
2012 - "Integrating Multiple Sources of Information to Understand Drug Action: From Molecular Structure to Clinical Population Data" Russ B. Altman, MD, PhD
2011 - "Is It Possible for Regulatory Scientists and Industry Scientists to Work Together?" Raymond Woosley, MD, PhD
2010 – "Rescuing the Therapeutic Orphan," Greg Kearns, PharmD, PhD
2009 – "Blood Brain Barrier and Biologics: Delivery to the Human Brain," William M. Pardridge, MD 
2008 – "Personalized Medicine: This Gene’s for You!," Howard L. McLeod, PharmD


Award Recipients

1999 - Carl C. Peck, MD, Inaugural Lecture   

2000 - Maurice R. Hilleman, PhD

2001 - Stephen P. Spielberg, MD, PhD

2002 - Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD
2003 - Marcus M. Reidenberg, MD
2004 - Richard M. Weinshilboum, MD

2005 - Floyd E. Bloom, MD

2006 - Alan S. Nies, MD

2007 - Daniel R. Weinberger, MD

2008 - Howard L. McLeod, PharmD

2009 - William M. Pardridge, MD

2010 - Gregory L. Kearns, PharmD, PhD

2011 - Raymond L. Woosley, MD, PhD

2012 - Russ B. Altman, MD, PhD

2013 - Gordon L. Amidon, PhD

2014 - David Flockhart, MD, PhD

2015 - Leslie Z. Benet, PhD

2016 - Julie A. Johnson, PharmD

528 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314 |  Ph: 703.836.6981 |