Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award

The Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award was established in 1978 by Dr. W. B. Rawls to further his commitment to continuing medical education and its impact on patient care. This award was founded through the generosity of the late Dr. and Mrs. W.B. Rawls, and honors the memory of their parents.

The goal of the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award is to incorporate the efforts of modern research in patient care and to help bridge the gap between the results of research and its application in patient care.

A nominee can be an academic, industrial, or regulatory scientist who is widely recognized for their transformational and/or translational discoveries or innovative approaches impacting clinical pharmacology research and clinical practice.

The nominator’s assessment and letter(s) of recommendation should provide evidence of the nominee’s exemplary record, including sufficient documented scientific contributions from research that lead to direct applications in patient care, as evidenced by either well cited publications, patents, independent influence on important drug development or regulatory decisions, or other recognitions (as may be relevant).

A nominee does not need to be an ASCPT member.

Prize and Presentation
The Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award is presented at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will present a lecture focusing on recent developments in clinical pharmacology. In addition, the recipient will receive a $1,000 prize and a plaque. Travel expenses, hotel expenses and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

2017 Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award Recipient Announced:

  Russ B. Altman, MD, PhD

Previous Recipients
2016 - Kenneth Thummel, PhD
2015 - Paul B. Watkins, MD
2014 - Yuichi Sugiyama, PhD
2013 - Mary V. Relling, PharmD
2012 - Scott A. Waldman, MD, PhD
2011 - David Flockhart, MD, PhD
2010 - Mark J. Ratain, MD
2009 - Kathleen M. Giacomini, PhD
2008 - Dan M. Roden, MD
2007 - Lawrence J. Lesko, PhD
2006 - William Evans, PharmD
2005 - Alastair J. J. Wood, MD
2004 - Meindert Danhof, PharmD, PhD
2003 - Brian Strom, MD, MPH
2002 - Terrence F. Blaschke, MD
2001 - Robert J. Temple, MD
2000 - Darrell R. Abernethy, MD, PhD
1999 - Neal L. Benowitz, MD
1998 - Donald R. Stanski, MD
1997 - Gideon Koren, MD

1996 - Grant R. Wilkinson, PhD
1995 - Leslie Z. Benet, PhD
1994 - Carl C. Peck, MD
1993 - D. Craig Brater, MD
1992 - Stephen P. Spielberg, MD, PhD
1991 - Frank J. Gonzalez, PhD and Urs A. Meyer, MD
1990 - Raymond L. Woosley, MD, PhD
1989 - Lewis B. Sheiner, MD
1988 - Edward M. Sellers, MD, PhD
1987 - William J. Jusko, PhD
1986 - Louis Lemberger, MD, PhD
1985 - Alan S. Nies, MD
1984 - Henry R. Bourne, MD
1983 - Arthur J. Atkinson, Jr., MD
1982 - William A. Pettinger, MD
1981 - Marcus M. Reidenberg, MD
1980 - David J. Greenblatt, MD
1979 - Richard M. Weinshilboum, MD

Rawls-Palmer Award Testimonials
2012: Scott A. Waldman, MD, PhD
2010: Mark Ratain, MD

For more information about the Rawls-Palmer Progress in Medicine Award, please contact ASCPT at (703) 836-6981 or
528 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314 |  Ph: 703.836.6981 |